Press "Enter" to skip to content

27th Annual Community Awards Banquet

The 27th Annual Community Awards Banquet will be held at the Barnesville Civic Center on March 4, 2010 beginning at 7 pm. This is an important event for our community because it is a time where many of Barnesville’s most valuable citizens are recognized. Turner’s Catering, Floral, and Rental Shoppe will be careering the event. The menu will feature shrimp alfredo, pork tenderloin, garlic mashed potatoes, green beans with almonds, tossed salad, yeast rolls, and peach cobbler. Tickets for this catered event will be $25.00 and will be available at the Chamber of Commerce until February 26, 2010. No tickets will be sold at the door. The Chamber of Commerce will be giving two awards, the Outstanding Citizen and Business Person of the Year. Last year’s recipient of the Outstanding Citizen was Walter and Laura Geiger. The recipient for Business Person of the Year was Ben and Doris Moore, owners of Moore Chevrolet-Buick. The deadline for nominations will be February 19, 2010 at 5:00 pm. Forms are available online at or you may pick them up at the Chamber of Commerce office located at 100 Commerce Place. The Lion’s Club will be giving the Volunteer of the Year Award. The deadline for nominations is February 10, 2010 at 5:00 pm. All nominations need to be sent to Carol Waters at 626 Greenwood St. Barnesville, GA 30204. The Law Enforcement Officer of the Year will be awarded by the Dewaine T. Bell Difference Maker Organization. Nominations should be submitted by February 17, 2010 to P.O. Box 123 Barnesville, GA 30204 marked Attention: April Smith. Other awards that will be given will be the Farmer of the Year Award given by the Barnesville-Lamar County Farm Bureau, the Career Woman of the Year Award given by the Barnesville Rotary Club, and the Brittain Cauthen Firefighter of the Year Award given by the Barnesville-Lamar County Fire Department. You can find application forms by going to

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021