Press "Enter" to skip to content

Advance voting numbers indicate lukewarm interest in May 22 primary

Lamar County voters go to the polls May 22 to cast ballots in the general/non-partisan primary. Polling places throughout the county will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. Early voting has been underway for two weeks. The elections office also took ballots all day this past Saturday. 258 voters have taken advantage of the early voting period. Of those, 174 cast Republican ballots while 83 voted Democratic. One voted non-partisan. An additional 30 absentee ballots were cast. There are no in-county races on the ballot but there are several regional races. In the 3rd District Congressional race, candidates include incumbent Republican Drew Ferguson, Republican Philip Singleton and Democrats Chuck Enderlin and Rusty Oliver. In the District 16 state senate race, those running are Republican Marty Harbin, Republican Tricia Stearns and Democrat Bill Lightle. In the House District 130 race, incumbent David Knight battles fellow Republican Raymond Ray. There is no Democrat in this race. In the run for the House District 131 seat, incumbent Johnnie Caldwell is battling fellow Republican Ken Pullin. The winner will face Chris Benton, the lone Democrat in the race, in November. Barnesville native Sid Chapman is running for the office of state school superintendent against fellow Democrats Sam Mosteller and Otha E. Thornton Jr. Republicans on the ballot are incumbent Richard Woods and John Barge. The other major statewide races have drawn multiple candidates, including: Governor: Republicans: Casey Cagle, Eddie Hayes, Hunter Hill, Brian Kemp, Clay Tippins, Marc Urbach and Michael Williams. Democrats: Stacey Abrams and Stacey Evans. Lt. Governor: Republicans: Geoff Duncan, Rick Jeffares and Davis Shafer. Democrats Sarah Riggs Amico and Triana Arnold James. Secretary of State: Republicans David Belle Isle, Buzz Broackway, Josh McKoon and Brad Raffensperger. Democrats: John Barrow, Dee Dawkins-Haigler and Rakeim Hadley. Insurance Commissioner: Republicans: Jim Beck, Jay Florence and Tracy Jordan. Democrats: Janice Laws and Cindy Zeldin.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021