Press "Enter" to skip to content

Cab owner killing not a death penalty case

By Walter Geiger Despite allegedly hijacking a cab, robbing and stabbing its owner and then leaving his victim to die in a ravine, Jamarris Latuan (Man) Williams will not face the death penalty. According to Towaliga Circuit district attorney Richard Milam, the case against Williams does not meet the standards for the death penalty despite multiple associated felony indictments added by the December term Lamar County grand jury last week. Williams now faces one count of malice murder, three counts of felony murder, one count of armed robbery, one count of hijacking a motor vehicle and two counts of aggravated assault in connection with the killing of 76-year-old John Dixson. Dixson vanished March 15. His body was found in a ravine off Forsyth-Yatesville Road in the southeast corner of Lamar the following day. He had been stabbed in the throat and left to die. Williams, 24, was taken into custody shortly thereafter and has been jailed since. Investigators said he called Dixson for a ride to a home near where his body was found. The cab was found at the home and Williams came back to town in a pickup belonging to an acquaintance. Williams will likely be arraigned in February. State witnesses listed on Williams’ indictment include GBI agents Cayce Ingalls, David Peeples, Todd Crosby, Tom Davis, Brian Hargrove, Rhiannon Morgan, Joe Wooten and Dr. Lora Darrisaw. Local law enforcement witnesses include Al Moltrum and Brian McWhorter of the Barnesville Police Department and Todd Pippin of the Lamar sheriff’s office. Other witnesses listed are Jeremy Armstrong, Sohel Batliwala, Ashley Coffey, Kelis Collier, Autaurs Drewery, Reginald Fambro, Eric Hamm, Matthew Hill, Deana Jackson, Alicedonia Jones, Dedra Faye McDaniel, George Philip O’Neal, Cindy Pruitt, Stephen Ruffin, Laura Thompson, Jenez Williams and Anthony Wilson.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021