Press "Enter" to skip to content

Candidates toe start line May 23

Qualifying for Lamar County elections is set for 9 a.m. Wednesday, May 23, through 12 noon Friday, May 25, during normal working hours at the board of elections office. Qualifying fees were set by the Lamar County commissioners on Jan. 17. They include magistrate judge, probate judge, clerk of superior court and tax commissioner, $1,392.25; sheriff,$1,616.40; commission districts three and four, $108; board of education district one,$156, and district three, $187.50; and coroner $107.97. The magistrate judgeship is held by William Thomas, the probate judge is Kathy Martin, superior court clerk is Frank Abbott and Andrea Anthony is the tax commissioner. No one else has announced they will qualify for any of these seats. Sheriff Larry Waller is retiring and plans to serve as the administrator of the Towaliga Judicial Circuit Drug Court, now housed in the Lamar County courthouse. This leaves an expected three-way race between Brad White, Frank Usher and Joe Buice. District three county commissioner Jimmy Hearn also will step down. Hearn spent several years on the water authority before and after being elected to the commission. Kelvin Chute, Julia Heidbrink and former county commission chairman Bobby Burnette are all tossing their hats in the ring for Hearn’s seat. Nancy Thrash has indicated she will run for re-election for district four and so far has no opposition. The board of education district one seat is held by Horace Hightower and district three is represented by longtime chairperson Susan Byars. Neither have any announced opposition. Coroner Jim Smith also has no announced opposition. The general primary will be held July 31 and the general election will be held Nov. 6.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021