Press "Enter" to skip to content

Community awards banquet is tonight

Barnesville-Lamar County will honor its top achievers Thursday night at the 27th annual Chamber of Commerce awards banquet. The event is set for 7 p.m. at the Barnesville Civic Center. Multiple awards are given at the banquet including the top award for Citizen(s) of the Year given by the chamber. This year’s nominees are Lynda and Mike Brutz, Anne Claxton, Hayward and Karen Cox, Rev. Garth Forster, Leonora Ginn and April Smith. The chamber will also bestow the Businessperson of the Year award. Nominees for that honor are Bill and Freida Ham and Ronald (Toot) Horton. There are eight nominees for the Lions Club Volunteer of the Year including John Bittner, Beverly Eskridge, Charles Glass, Hailey McKneely, Pat Peurifoy, Eleanor Dixon Stecker, Jessica Traylor and George Weldon. Lt. Maggie Moreland and Lt. Leslie Baines are finalists for the Dewaine Bell Difference Makers Law Enforcement Officer of the Year award. Other awards to be presented include Farmer of the Year, sponsored by Farm Bureau; Career Woman of the Year, sponsored by the Rotary Club; and Firefighter of the Year. Additionally, the Kiwanis Club will laud STAR student Laura West and her Star teacher, Jane Mitchell.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021