Press "Enter" to skip to content

Complete list of qualified candidates on local ballots May 24

Qualifying for local, state and federal elections came to an end last week with a surprisingly strong turnout of local candidates from both parties. The lone race that did not draw a single candidate is that for mayor of Milner. The city will reopen qualifying for that post soon.

As expected, county commission chairman Charles Glass is not seeking reelection. District 3 commissioner Ryran Traylor, a Republican, resigned that position to seek the chairman’s post. He drew opposition from fellow Republican James L. Hyde. The winner faces no Democrat opposition in November.

A special election to fill the seat vacated by Traylor will likely be held in conjunction with the general election in November.

District 2 commissioner Robert Heiney also declined to seek reelection. The race to replace him drew five candidates, all of whom are newcomers to the political scene.

Don Coffey, William Daniel, Chase Hassey and Jason Lovett will battle it out in the Republican primary with the winner facing Democrat U’Landa Barkley in November.

Longtime District 1 commissioner Bennie Horton qualified and drew opposition from fellow Democrat Jarrod B. Fletcher.

Another veteran office holder, District 2 school board member Sue O’Neal, also decided not to run for reelection. Robyn L. Roache (R) is running unopposed to take that spot.

Other Candidates running unopposed:
Towaliga Circuit Judge of Superior Court: Incumbent Tommy Wilson.
School Board (at large): Incumbent Danny Turner (R).
School Board District 4: Incumbent Ron Smith (R).

Races to be decided May 24:
Milner City Council: Christopher Eady vs. Rickey Fallings.
State House Dist. 135: Incumbent Beth Camp (R) vs. Dan Brue (R).

Races to be decided in November:
State Senate Dist. 16: Incumbent Marty Harbin (R) vs. Pingke Dubignon (D).
State House Dist. 134: Incumbent David Knight (R) vs. Anthony Dickson (D).

In the gubernatorial battle, Stacey Abrams is the lone Democrat in the race. Battling incumbent Republican Brian Kemp for the GOP nomination are Catherine Davis, David Perdue, Kandiss Taylor and Tom Williams.

Lieutenant Governor Geoff Duncan is not seeking reelection. Multiple candidates are in this race. The Democrat candidates are Erick E. Allen, Charlie Bailey, Tyrone Brooks, Jr., Tony Brown, Kwanza Hall, Jason T. Hayes, Derrick L. Jackson, R. Malik and Renitta Shannon.

The Republicans battling for the nomination are Burt Jones, Mack McGregor, Butch Miller and Jeanne Seaver. Also seeking the post is Libertarian Ryan Graham.

In the US Senate race, incumbent Democrat Raphael Warnock faces a primary challenge from fellow Democrat Tamara Johnson-Shealey. Six Republicans are battling it out for the nomination in the primary. They are Gary W. Black, Josh Clark, Kelvin King, Jonathan McColumn, Latham Saddler and Herschel Walker.

In the 3rd District Congressional race, incumbent Republican Drew Ferguson faces a challenge from fellow Republican Jared Craig in the primary. The winner will face Democrat challenger Val Almonord in November.

Other statewide races:
Secretary of State: Incumbent Republican Brad Rafffensperger has multiple challengers. The Republicans are David Belle Isle, Jody Hice and T.J. Hudson. The Democrats are Dee Dawkins-Haigler, John Eaves, Floyd Griffin, Bee Nguyen and Michael Owens.

Attorney General Chris Carr faces fellow Republican John Gordon in the primary. Running for the Democrat nomination are Jennifer Jordan and Christian Wise Smith. Lurking on the November ballot will be Libertarian Martin Cowen.

Incumbent Commissioner of Agriculture Gary W. Black is running for US Senate. Those in the race to replace him are Republican Tyler Harper, Democrats Winfred Dukes, Nakita Hemingway and Fred Swann and Liberatarian David Raudabaugh.

Incumbent Insurance Commissioner John King has two opponents in the GOP primary. They are Ben Cowart and Patrick Witt. Battling for the Democrat nomination are Raphael Baker, Janice Laws Robinson and Matthew Wilson.

Incumbent State School Superintendent Richard Woods faces John Barge in the Republican primary. Democrats seeking the post are Currey Hitchens, Jaha V. Howard, James Morrow, Jr., and Alisha Thomas Searcy.

Labor Commissioner Mark Butler (R) is not seeking reelection. Democrats in this race are William Boddie, Jr., Thomas Dean, Nicole Horn, Lester G. Jackson, III and Nadia Surrency. Republicans on the ballot are Kartik Bhatt, Mike Coan and Bruce Thompson.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021