Press "Enter" to skip to content

Devane, Glass square off at forum Thursday

County commission chairman candidates Neal Devane and Charles Glass will be the only candidates behind the microphones Thursday at a candidate’s forum sponsored by the chamber of commerce and Lamar County Farm Bureau. The event is set for 6 p.m. at the Barnesville Civic Center and you can suggest questions for the candidates through the end of the day Tuesday. Suggsted questions can be e-mailed to, faxed to 770-358-5886 or dropped off at the chamber office. Meanwhile, advance voting runs through Friday, Oct. 31 at the board of elections office. As of Friday, there have been 365 advance voters and 146 absentee ballots mailed out. Of the latter, 62 have been returned. Voting hours are 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and 1:30-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Saturday voting will be held Oct. 25 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Those who want absentee ballots for the general election to be held Tuesday, Nov. 4, can find them at the elections office. For information on voting status or to request an absentee ballot call elections supervisor Anita Reid at 770-358-5235. On the ballot: Several statewide races will see Republican incumbents face challengers. Gov. Nathan Deal is running against Democrat Jason J. Carter and Libertarian Andrew T. Hunt. Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle faces Democrat Connie Stokes. Secretary of State Brian Kemp is being challenged by Democrat Doreen Carter. Attorney General Samuel Olens is seeing competition from Democrat Gregory K. Hecht. Commissioner of agriculture Gary W. Black is running against Democrat Christopher James Irvin. Insurance commissioner Ralph T. Hudgens faces Democrat Elizabeth N. Johnson and Libertarian Edward ‘Ted’ Metz. Labor commissioner Mark Butler and Democrat Robbin K. Shipp are after the job. For public service commissioner, Herman ‘Doug’ Everett faces Libertarian John H. Monds and Lauren W. ‘Bubba’ McDonald is running against Democrat Daniel A. Blackman and Libertarian Robin Aaron Gilmer. In the state school superintendent race are newcomers Richard L. Woods, a Republican, and Valarie D. Wilson, a Democrat. Running for U.S. Senate are Republican David Perdue, Democrat Michelle Nunn and Libertarian Amanda C. Swafford.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021