Press "Enter" to skip to content

Early voting underway; primary drawing nigh

By Walter Geiger With the May 24 general and nonpartisan primary looming, 73 registered Lamar County voters made up their minds and cast early ballots last week. That option is available to registered voters through Friday, May 20 at the courthouse annex. Saturday voting is May 14 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. The primary will settle one local race once and for all and winnow the fields of candidates in many others. The one race that will be decided is that for Towaliga circuit district attorney in which longtime incumbent Richard Milam is being challenged by Jonathan Adams. The circuit consists of Lamar, Butts and Monroe counties. Milam is from Butts County. Adams, an assistant district attorney in Bibb County, lives in Monroe. Other races on the ballot will eliminate candidates in preparation for the runoff July 26 and the general election Nov. 8. U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, a Republican, is seeking reelection. He has multiple challengers. Those choosing a Democratic ballot will choose among contenders Cheryl Copeland, Jim Barksdale and John F. Coyne III. On the GOP ballot with Isakson are Derrick Grayson, and Mary Kay Bacallao. Both attended a local political forum as did Coyne. The 3rd District Congressional seat is up in the air with the retirement of incumbent Rep. Lynn Westmoreland and there is no shortage of candidates on either ballot. Those voting Democratic ballots will choose among Angela Pendley and Tamarkus Cook. The GOP race, likely headed to the runoff, boasts a broad field of candidates including Arnall ‘˜Rod’ Thomas, Chip Flanegan, Drew Ferguson, Jim Pace, Mike Crane, Richard Mix and Samuel Anders. Those in the Congressional race who debated locally were Pace and Cook. The candidates which make up Lamar’s incumbent state legislative delegation are running unopposed as are many local constitutional officers and elected officials comprising the local county commission and school board. The lone additional contested local race is that for sheriff. Republican incumbent Brad White and Democratic challenger Frank Usher are running unopposed in the primary May 24. They will battle it out in November.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021