Press "Enter" to skip to content

Elections heating up; new challenger emerges

The qualifying period for the upcoming general primary begins at 9 a.m. on Monday, April 26 and runs through noon on Friday, April 30. The general primary is July 20. Any necessary runoffs would be held August 10. Current local incumbents facing reelection include county commission chairman Jay Matthews, district one commissioner Bennie Horton Jr., district two commissioner George Brown, school board at-large member Ryan Christopher, district two school board member Sue O’Neal and district four school board member Ron Smith. State and local offices up for grabs include those now held by Sen. Johnny Isakson, Rep. Lynn Westmoreland, state senator Ronnie Chance and state representatives David Knight, Jim Cole, Billy Maddox and Tony Sellier. All are Republicans. Bill Mauldin, one of the principals in a distillery that is in startup mode in Jackson, has said he will run against Knight as he did unsuccessfully two years ago. Mauldin will formally announce his campaign Friday. Spencer Price, an Upson County physician, has announced his plans to oppose Rep. Maddox. Rep. Cole has announced he will not seek reelection. Former Monticello mayor Susan Holmes has announced her intention to seek his spot. Commissioner George Brown has announced he will seek reelection. Redbone resident and former elections board chairman Charles Glass has said he will run against Brown. Commission chairman Jay Matthews has said he will seek reelection. He has no announced opposition.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021