Press "Enter" to skip to content

GSC Theatre presents Miller’s classic ‘The Crucible’

The Gordon State College Theatre production of ‘The Crucible’ begins almost in the audience’s face. A troubled girl pulled back from jumping to an almost certain death by her vigilant father. The play’s descent into madness, into darkness continues as each act moves farther and farther away from the audience, and closer and closer to the ropes at the back of the stage. Arthur Miller’s ‘The Crucible’ will be presented Wednesday through Saturday, Feb. 12-15 each night at 7:30 p.m. The closing matinee is Sunday, Feb. 16 at 2 p.m. The play is Miller’s story of the Salem witch trials that took place in Massachusetts in the late 1600s. The Crucible won the 1953 Tony Award for best play. ’I wanted to do a recognizable show that would draw both the campus community as well as members of our area communities,’ said Rhonda Wooley, assistant professor of theater and director of the play. The 14-member cast is made up of some veterans of the Gordon stage, a few new theater majors and several students who are brand new to acting. ’These actors, with different levels and years of experience, are feeding off each other in the best way,’ Wooley said. ‘It is very satisfying to see this group of actors come together as a company. I think this will translate into an excellent production that theater goers will enjoy.’ The stage, which has been built to extend 16 feet into the audience, was designed by Tony Pearson, associate professor of theater. ’It allows the actors to sink into the set and the audience to be pulled into the ever darkening story act by act,’ Pearson said. The cast includes Lamar residents, Katie Janssen as Betty Parris; Kit Weber as Judge Danforth and Shannon Baskin as Susanna Walcott. Tickets are available at the door and are $7 for adults, $6 for seniors, $5 for students and $4 each for members of groups of 10 or more.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021