Press "Enter" to skip to content

Heated election season looms

Candidates have already begun jockeying for position as a heated 2010 election season looms. There are six county posts up for grabs. According to elections supervisor Anita Reid, the general primary is July 20. Candidate qualifying runs from 9 a.m. on Monday, April 26 to noon on Friday, April 30. Any necessary runoffs would be held August 10. The last day to register to vote in the primary is June 21. The general and non-partisan election is November 2. The runoff is November 30. The voter registration deadline is October 4. Current local incumbents facing reelection include county commission chairman Jay Matthews, district one commissioner Bennie Horton Jr., district two commissioner George Brown, school board at-large member Ryan Christopher, district two school board member Sue O’Neal and district four school board member Ron Smith. State and local offices up for grabs include those now held by Sen. Johnny Isakson, Rep. Lynn Westmoreland, state senator Ronnie Chance and state representatives David Knight, Jim Cole, Billy Maddox and Tony Sellier. All are Republicans. Judge Tommy Wilson of the Towaliga circuit superior court must run in the November non-partisan election. Rep. Cole has announced he will not seek reelection. Former Monticello mayor Susan Holmes has announced her intention to seek his spot. Commissioner George Brown has announced he will seek reelection. Redbone resident and former elections board chairman Charles Glass has said he will run against Brown.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021