Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lamar basketball teams suffering through slow starts

The young 2014-15 basketball season has not been kind thus far to the Trojans and Lady Trojans of LCHS. Both teams are off to slow starts with identical 1-4 records. Each is 0-1 in region competition. The Lady Trojans, coached by Tamica Andrews, went 1-3 last week. They got the season’s first and only win Tuesday as they defeated Jackson 46-37 here. On Friday, Lamar hosted NE Macon and lost 45-41. LC’s Tamia Jones led all scorers with 17 points. Nykia Thomas added 13 for the locals. On Saturday, Lamar played at Mary Persons and got routed by the Lady Dogs 61-32. Alissa Hicks had 12 points for LC while Thomas was again in double figures with 10 points. The Trojans had a rough week as well. They, too, got their first win Tuesday as they topped Jackson 74-58. On Friday they lost at home to NE Macon 67-53. On Saturday, they lost a 74-72 heartbreaker to MP on the road. Trojan head coach Prelvis Paster did not report individual stats. The Lamar teams travel to Monticello Tuesday for their second region matchup. On Saturday, they host the annual Oscar Wimberly Holiday Classic which is sponsored by United Bank. Teams from Greenville High School will be in town for the Classic. The middle school girls play at 1:30 p.m. while the middle school boys play at 3 p.m. Varsity play begins with the girls at 6 p.m. Boys action follows at 7:30 p.m. The Lady Trojans roster includes Kiana Harris, Tamia Jones, Nykia Thomas, Timecia Holmes, Raven Sullivan, Joynesia Harden, Alexis Web, Adrian Rock, NyAsia Shivers, Destiny Bowden, Jasmine World, Cierra Smith, Alissa Hicks and Tristan Smith. Making up the Trojan varsity roster are Shon Taylor, Keltravious Lumpkin, Andruw O’Neal, Brice Paster, Daniel Miller, Askdem Ogletree, Skylar Partain, L.J. Smith, Quin Alford, Kevahn Jones, Obtavious Hampton and Bobby Holmes. The Trojan JV roster includes Winfred Dixson, Jaylund Harris, Brodni Fletcher, Rondez Fletcher, Quay Parks, Dallas Ogletree, Lorenzo High, Kodi Wilson, Tyrelle Bankston, Jeremiah Murphy and Colby Battle.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021