Press "Enter" to skip to content

Qualifying off to fast start

Qualifying got off to a fast start Wednesday with 12 local candidates paying fees by 4 p.m. Most were candidates or incumbents who had previously announced but one county commissioner drew unannounced competition. John Samek qualified to run against incumbent county commissioner Nancy Thrash, who also qualified, in district four. The district three county commission race has three qualifiers thus far in Van Baker, Kelvin Chute and Julia Heidbrink. Brad White qualified to run for sheriff. The remainder of the qualifiers were incumbents including: Tax commissioner Andrea Anthony. District 3 school board member Susan Byars. Chief magistrate William Thomas. District 1 school board member Horace Hightower. Clerk of court Frank Abbott. Probate judge Kathy Martin. In state and district races, qualifiers included: Incumbent district 16 state senator Ronnie Chance. Incumbent district 130 state representative David Knight. Incumbent district 140 stat representative Robert Dickey. As announced, Ryan Christopher has qualified to seek the district 131 seat in the state house being vacated by Billy Maddox. Incumbent Towaliga Circuit superior court judge Bill Fears has qualified for reelection. Towaliga Circuit district attorney Richard Milam has also qualified for reelection. Incumbent District 3 U.S. Representative Lynn Westmoreland has qualified.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021