Press "Enter" to skip to content

VOTE TODAY! Polls open 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Lamar County voters go to the polls today to cast ballots in the May 21 general primary. There is only one contested in-county race on the ballot.

In that battle incumbent District 4 county commissioner Nancy Thrash is being challenged by fellow Republican Truman Boyle.

Early voting ended Friday at 5 p.m. and elections supervisor Anita Reid and her staff served 895 early voters and took in 103 absentee ballots.

Another contested race pits Republican incumbent Robert Dickey of Musella, who represents District 134 in the state house, against challenger and fellow Republican Joshua Dylan Lewis of Thomaston. District 134 includes large parts of southern Lamar County.

The major conflicts will come in the race for the District 3 seat in the US House of Representatives. Incumbent Drew Ferguson, a Republican, is not seeking reelection. Eight candidates qualified to fill that void.

The six Republicans are Jim Bennett and Mike Dugan of Carroll County; Brian Jack of Fayette County; Mike Crane of Heard County; Phillip Singleton of Coweta County; and Ray Blair of Muscogee County. The two Democrats are Maura Keller of Fayette County and Val Almonord of Muscogee County.

(Monitor tonight for realtime election results.)

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Website by - Copyright 2021